Professor David M. Chasco, FAIA, is Professor and past Director of the Illinois School of Architecture (2004-2014). Chasco was originally a member and associate with Gunnar Birkerts and Assoc. from 1983-1994, Design Architect with DiClemente Siegel Design/Gunnar Birkerts FAIA from 1997-2002, joined the College of Architecture and Design at Lawrence Technological University (LTU) in 1994, and served as Interim Dean from 2002-2004.

Chasco received his Master of Architecture (1980) and B.S in Architecture (1977) from the Illinois School of Architecture in Urbana-Champaign. He was the recipient of the school’s prestigious Plym Travelling Fellowship in 1992.

Comprehensive design experiences include such building types as an embassy, cathedral addition/renovation, performing arts center, laboratories, academic libraries and law schools, mixed-use retail/housing/offices, corporate offices, and housing. Chasco has also provided architectural RFP/RFQ selection services for LTU’s $20 million College of Architecture Building and Peoria’s $100 million Museum and Caterpillar Visitor’s Center.

David M. Chasco has received the New York Architectural League’s Young Architect’s Award, a Detroit AIA Honor Award, the Michigan AIA President’s Award for Outstanding Leadership in Education and the Profession, and has contributed to numerous AIA awards, industry awards, and publications with Gunnar Birkerts & Associates. He currently also serves as the Chancellor’s Advisor for Architecture and Master Planning, advising on such issues as the $95 million Electrical Computing Engineering Building, the proposed $110 million College of Law Building, as well as planning issues such as the completion of the west military axis. In 2008, he served on the State of Illinois AIA Board of Director’s.


M. Arch, Illinois School of Architecture, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; 1980
B. Arch, Illinois School of Architecture, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; 1977