Recognition Awards

Recognizing School- and University-wide achievements.

American Institute of Architects (AIA) Henry Adams Medal and Cerificate

The Henry Adams Medal is given by the American Institute of Architects to a graduate who has received the Master of Architecture as the first professional degree and who is qualified by the highest scholastic standing, character, and professional promise. (The preceding degree lists for May, August, October, and January are used in determining the recipients.)

Association of Licensed Architects (ALA) Student Merit Award

The Association of Licensed Architects acknowledges architectural students who have exhibited exemplary achievement throughout the year.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

The Alpha Rho Chi Medal is given by the Grand Council of that fraternity, upon recommendation of the faculty, to a graduating senior who has demonstrated leadership, given outstanding service to the school, and displayed promise of high professional merit by his/her attitude and personality.

ARCC/King Student Merit Medal for Excellence in Architectural + Environmental Design Research

The Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC) is pleased to award the ARCC/King Student Merit Medal for Excellence in Architectural + Environmental Design Research. Named in honor of the late Jonathan King, co-founder and first president of the ARCC, this award is given to one student per ARCC member school. Selection of school recipients is at the discretion of the individual institutions, but is based upon criteria that acknowledges innovation, integrity, and scholarship in architectural and/or environmental design research. The award may be made at either the graduate or undergraduate level.

Bronze Tablet Award

In 1925, the University of Illinois began the tradition of inscribing the Bronze Tablets with the names of students receiving University Honors. Inscription on the Bronze Tablets recognizes sustained academic achievement by undergraduate students at Illinois.

Chicago Award in Architecture

Each year the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Chicago chapter sponsors a student competition inviting the regional architecture schools to participate and selects up to five students per school to enter the competition. The first place design receives the Benn Johnck Student Award. AIA Chicago typically selects one or two second place finishers for the award.

Gargoyle Society Award for Excellence

The Gargoyle Society Award for Excellence is given to a freshmen student or students who, through his or her efforts and accomplishments, shows promise of upholding the ideals of the Gargoyle Architecture Society.

National Organization of Minority Architects Outstanding Student Leadership Merit Award

This award honors a minority student in architecture and an active member of NOMAS, for outstanding leadership, scholarship, and dedicated contributions to the student organization. This award was established in 1997 by Professor Ernest H. Clay. Professor Clay retired in June 1999.

Women’s Architectural League Foundation of Chicago Scholarship

These scholarships are awarded to architecture students (male or female) selected on the basis of both scholastic achievement and financial need. The scholarships are awarded to U.S. citizens and residents of the State of Illinois who are entering their final and full-time year of study for the professional degree.

Cookie Settings