January 23rd, 2019

Congratulations to the WINNER of the 2019 A3 Logo Design Contest - senior, Jonathan Chow!! 

His design will be used on the A3 program cover, posters, and publicity for the event. Congratulations! 

January 18th, 2019

Earl Prize/Graduate Studio Design Excellence

Fall 2018

The Illinois School of Architecture is pleased to announce the winners of the Earl Prize in Design (undergraduate) and the Graduate Awards for Design Excellence (graduate) for the Fall 2018 semester. These awards recognize the outstanding student work at the sophomore, junior, senior, and graduate levels of our curriculum.

The Earl Prizes are funded with income from an endowment bequeathed by Edward C. Earl Prizes and are awarded for excellence in undergraduate design studios.

January 16th, 2019

Clinical Associate Professor Randy Deutsch has been invited by President Robert C. Robbins M.D. and Dean Nancy Pollock-Ellwand PhD of the University of Arizona (UA) to serve as an inaugural member of University of Arizona College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture (CAPLA) Futures Council.

January 08th, 2019

Ivana Rakshit and Yang Li, 2018 graduates of the M.Arch program, recently won a national design award for their project, “The 3/3 Education Center,” completed in Prof. Scott Murray’s studio during the spring ’18 semester. The project involved designing a new infill tower on a prominent site in downtown Chicago.

December 21st, 2018

The winners of the Fall 2018 Archon Prize are Alexander Brosh and Shannon Fitzgerald with a project titled: hush

In second place Felipe Flores Garzon, Marilia Gomes De Sa Ribeiro, and Conor Schafer collaborated to create: Live_Lab

Special thanks to the Jury: Marina Berrones, Steve Siegle, David Emmons and Tim McGrath.

Our enduring gratitude extends to:

A. Richard Williams, FAIA, Professor Emeritus & and Sponsor of Archon Prize

December 20th, 2018

Jeanne Gang (BSAS '86) recalls school mentor Art Kaha on the University of Illinios Sesquicentennial website: https://uofi150.news-gazette.com/people/jeanne-gang

December 17th, 2018

Congratulations to the team of Srushti Nehete and Shannon Fitzgerald, two Master of Architecture students who were recently awarded 2nd Place in the 2018 Chicago Women in Architecture Scholarship, which is presented annually to female students in their last year of studies in recognition of an outstanding Design Studio Project. Students from all accredited architecture programs in the state of Illinois are eligible to apply.

December 12th, 2018

We are quite pleased to see that our 2018 Plym Travelling Fellow can continue his outstanding design and research efforts through the Richard Rogers Fellowship. 

John Paul Rysavy, who received a BSAS at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is 2008 and was a recipient of the Francis J. Plym Fellowship from the Illinois School of Architecture, is an architect and Senior Associate at SHoP Architects in New York City.

December 03rd, 2018

Randy Deutsch will present at a workshop on offsite construction with Katerra at the MADE Expo Trade Fair in Milan, Italy in March 2019, as well as deliver a lecture on AI in architecture at the Università degli Studi di Brescia http://www.madeexpo.it/en/

December 03rd, 2018

We are proud to announce the new Ricker Report December 2018 Issue has been released today, Monday, December 3rd.