February 10th, 2015

Architecture 476 students working under the direction of Professor Sara Bartumeus visited the Chicago Studio on February 6th. Accompanying Professor Joy Malnar's Architecture 572 Studio they attend two meetings with officials of the City of Chicago, Department of Planning & Development and the 33rd Aldermanic Ward. Afterward the group visited The Chicago Studio at 224 South Michigan Avenue located within the office of VOA Associates, Inc. That evening VOA hosted a welcoming reception to introduce the Chicago Studio students to the VOA community.

February 09th, 2015

Parsa Khalili
Assistant Professor, Institute of Architecture, University of Applied Arts Vienna - Studio Lynn
UIUC Plym Traveling Fellow Lecture

Lecture: Monday, February 9, 2015
5:30pm - Lawrence J. Plym Auditorium, Temple Hoyne Buell Hall

Lecture Title: "Campus Martius East"


February 09th, 2015

The Illinois School of Architecture Makeseries competition is excited to announce the three finalists for the Spring 2015 competition. Two of these teams were selected by a jury of faculty members while the third team was selected from a student vote held during the exhibit reception Monday night. All three teams will have one month to revise and improve their designs based on jury comments before one final winner is announced and constructed by the end of the semester. The winning teams are as follows:

February 02nd, 2015

The Illinois School of Architecture Makeseries1 would like to invite all students and faculty to their spring competition exhibit on February 2nd located in Temple Buell Architecture Gallery in the Architecture Building. There will be a reception at 6pm along with the student vote from 6-7pm. All ISoA students will be able to vote for which project they think should continue into the next round of the competition along with two other projects selected by a faculty jury.

January 30th, 2015

Contact: Tiffany Clotfelter, 312-251-9931, tclotfelter@ksapr.com

January 30, 2015

Illinois Public Housing Authority’s Efficient Living Program Recognized for Saving 34 Million Gallons of Water for Residents with Low Incomes

URBANA, ILL. – The Illinois Public Housing Authority Efficient Living Program (ILPHA) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign School of Architecture has been awarded the Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance’s (MEEA) 2015 Inspiring Efficiency Impact Award.

January 08th, 2015

The School of Architecture Historic Preservation Program is partnering with the Historic Preservation Trades Program at Savannah Technical College to embark on an ecological-based new volunteer accommodations complex at the Fort Pulaski National Monument near Savannah, Georgia. The design/build project will combine preservation and sustainability ideas developed by Illinois architecture students with traditional-based fabrication work by Savannah Tech’s preservation trades students. The National Park Service will fund the joint design initiative for the Spring 2015 semester.

January 08th, 2015

The SAH 68th Annual International Conference: Chicago at the Global Crossroads
takes place April 15–19 at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza (#SAH2015)

December 16th, 2014

Washington, D.C. – December 15, 2014 – The American Institute of Architects (AIA), along with the AIA Foundation and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), today named the Illinois School of Architecture and 10 other architecture schools and schools of public health as charter members of the AIA Design & Health Research Consortium, which will help fund basic research on how design affects public health.

December 09th, 2014

One of Associate Professor Kevin Erickson's award-winning projects was featured in the November 2014 Style issue of Canada's largest newspaper, Globe and Mail, in an article titled "Cabin fever: These designer huts are the perfect cold-weather getaways".


December 04th, 2014

Principals of two of the ten architectural firms featured in the recent "Design Vanguard" issue of Architectural Record magazine (12/2014) were educated at the Illinois School of Architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.