December 19th, 2016

The Illinois School of Architecture is pleased to announce the winners of the Earl Prize in Design (undergraduate) and the Graduate Awards for Design Excellence (graduate) for the Fall 2016 Semester. These awards recognize the outstanding student work completed in design studio courses at all levels of the curriculum.

Earl Prize in Design - Review Committee: P. Armstrong, C. Lewis, J. Stallmeyer

December 13th, 2016

Robert Thaddeus Mooney, Professor Emeritus of Architecture, passed away in Iowa City, Iowa on December 9, 2016. He is survived by his wife Barbara Burlison Mooney, son Will, and daughter-in-law Megan Mooney.

December 13th, 2016

SEATTLE, December 13, 2016—Seattle-based Graham Baba Architects is pleased to announce the firm’s 10th anniversary. Co-founded by architects Jim Graham and Brett Baba in 2006, the firm has enjoyed a growing reputation for their work, which includes adapting existing buildings, creating thriving public market venues, designing residences that highlight craft, and developing commercial projects that focus on user experience. “To get the opportunities we’ve had—and to earn the trust of our clients—has been humbling,” says Jim Graham.

December 08th, 2016

Interactive Design Architects (IDEA) has been selected to design the rebuilt Bruce D. Nesbitt African American Cultural Center. The firm is led by Illinois architecture alumna Dina Griffin (BSAS, 1986).

December 07th, 2016

Two graduate students in Associate Professor Erik Hemingway’s Arch 571 studio have received Honorable Mentions in the Laka Competition ’16: Architecture that Reacts!  More than 250 Participants from 40 countries submitted designs to this year’s “Architecture that Reacts” competition. Congratulations to Adrienne Strohm & Asmaa Almunayes! To view their winning entries, please visit the links below:

November 30th, 2016

University of Illinois Graduate Vladimir Radutny, AIA, (BArch 2000, MArch 2002) was awarded the 2016 Dubin Family Young Architect Award by the AIA Chicago Foundation.  This is a juried award established in 1983 to recognize excellence in ability and exceptional contributions by Chicago area architects between the ages of twenty-five and thirty-nine. Jurors were “…impressed with Radutny's scope of work that has garnered multiple awards from AIA Chicago and beyond."

November 18th, 2016

Visiting Lecturer David Emmons recently collaborated with architecture senior Yanhao Liu (BSAS '17) on a competition entry entitled "The L.A.W.N." which was awarded a 'Top-6 Finalist' in the Quad Competition for the Architectural Boston Expo. The Quad Competition is an international call for a social space installation.

November 18th, 2016

Visiting Lecturer David Emmons recently collaborated with a former U of I exchange student, Claire Gaspin, on a competition entry titled "Babel: Settlement no. 1" which was awarded Honorable Mention in the 24Hr: Mars Competition sponsored by Ideas Forward. The competition's premise was to envision a settlement on the planet of Mars with scientific research purposes that would be co-financed by space tourism. The competition was the 13th edition of the "24Hr" series and received numerous entries from across the globe. Their proposal "Babel: Settlement no.

November 14th, 2016
Antonio Sanmartin & Elena Canovas 
Co-Founders, aSZ arquitectes
Lecture Title: "on dimensions, scales and times" 
November 09th, 2016