July 13th, 2016

Three of the four prizes in the 2016 Chicago Award in Architecture student competition were won by students of the Illinois School of Architecture. The competition, sponsored by American Institute of Architects (AIA) Chicago Chapter, is juried by members of the AIA Chicago Foundation. The awards will be formally presented at AIA Chicago’s Annual Meeting in early December.

July 07th, 2016

A graduate student design team led by Associate Professor Lynne M. Dearborn played a pivotal role in developing the City of Peoria’s entry in the Play Everywhere Challenge, a national design competition hosted by KaBOOM!

July 05th, 2016

Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners (TWBTA) will lead the team that designs the Obama Presidential Center in Chicago, partnering with Interactive Design Architects (IDEA), whose president is Illinois School of Architecture alumna Dina Griffin (BSAS 1986).

June 16th, 2016

Gertrude Lempp Kerbis passed away on the evening of June 14, 2016. She was 89. An undergraduate at Illinois after transferring from Wisconsin, Kerbis earned the BS in Architectural Engineering in 1948. She did graduate work at Harvard University, 1949-50, and received the Master of Architecture and Urban Planning degree from Illinois Institute of Technology in 1954.

June 10th, 2016

Professor Kathryn Anthony is featured in an Illinois News Bureau story located here on Universal Podium Design. 

June 06th, 2016

Through the U.S. Department of Energy’s annual Race to Zero competition, 22 Illinois undergraduate and grad students (representing seven different campus departments) collaborated on a design for a highly energy-efficient home. Much more important than the second-place finish among nine teams in the small multifamily housing category, these students are learning about different people and different disciplines — all for the good of solving a major challenge.

May 31st, 2016

Professor Emeritus A. Richard “Dick” Williams, FAIA, passed away on the evening of May 27 in Tucson, Arizona, at age 101. His formal obituary appeared last week in the Arizona Daily Star. It notes that after retiring from Illinois, he moved Tucson, where for many years he was an active design critic at the University of Arizona.

May 17th, 2016

It is our pleasure to announce a successful conclusion to this year’s faculty searches. Joining us in Fall 2016 as Assistant Professors will be:

·         Aaron Brakke - Aaron’s hire emerged from a search to fill a position in one or more of three program areas: detail + FABRICATION, Health and Well-being, and Urbanism.

May 16th, 2016

Graduating students and their families gathered on Sunday, May 15 in Foellinger Auditorium for the Convocation Ceremony of the Illinois School of Architecture, the day after the University commencement ceremony.

May 16th, 2016

Last Thursday, May 12, 2016, the Chicago Committee on High Rise Buildings (CCHRB) elected Abbas Aminmansour as its Chair for a two year term effective June 1, 2016.

CCHRB is a technical committee of seventy some architects, engineers, constructors and other professionals in the areas of design, construction and operation of high rise buildings.  I am one of two academics on the group and the first academic chair of the organization.