May 26th, 2020

Lynne M. Dearborn became the fourth female faculty member in the 150-year history of the University of Illinois’ School of Architecture to achieve the rank of Full Professor in May 2020.

May 21st, 2020

Discover Architecture Summer 2020

The Illinois School of Architecture is offering a virtual Discover Architecture Program via Zoom to introduce high school students and recent graduates to the discipline of architecture both as a profession and as a field of academic endeavor, from July 13-17, 2020.

May 18th, 2020

The Illinois School of Architecture is pleased to announce the winners of the Earl Prize in Design (undergraduate) and the Graduate Awards for Design Excellence for the Spring 2020 semester. These awards recognize the outstanding student work at the sophomore, junior, senior, and graduate levels of our curriculum. The Earl Prizes are funded with income from an endowment bequeathed by Edward C. Earl and are awarded for excellence in undergraduate design studios.

May 18th, 2020

Congratulations to Professor Emeritus Henry Plummer on receiving the 2020 Daylight Lifetime Achievement Award!

May 16th, 2020

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic we cannot share the same physical space to honor our Graduates but we gather in spirit, in warmth and in heart to commend the hard work and diligence of our graduating class. We have missed the rhythm of your movements, activities and commotions in the halls of the Architecture Building and Temple Buell Hall but know that you have left an indelible mark that will continue to be the school’s heartbeat. Your imagination and creativity will live on as part of  the ISOA. WE CELEBRATE YOU CLASS OF 2020! Please enjoy this video salute to you!


May 15th, 2020

Announcing the 2020 Annual Architecture Awards!!

This year, due to COVID-19, we were unable to have our Annual Architecture Awards (A3) program at the I-Hotel, yet we still wanted the opportunity to celebrate all of our prize, award and scholarship winners! Please help us celebrate all of our 2020 recipients by enjoying this video. Congratulations! 


May 12th, 2020

Vladimir Radutny. Photo © Mike Schwarz


May 12th, 2020

It is our pleasure to congratulate our alumnae for being named to Crain's 2020 Notable Women in Construction and Design!

May 11th, 2020

We are proud to announce that the Ricker Report Spring 2020 issue has been released. 

May 11th, 2020

Aaron Brakke, Assistant Professor and Founder and Director of WHITEKNEE, has been working with a community living in an informal settlement on the outskirts of Bogota for the past five years. Through a participatory design research process, he was able to help the community develop new collective imaginaries for their ‘barrio’, developed a design, and helped them build a park on what had been an empty lot full of trash and construction debris.