Plym Distinguished Professors

The Plym Distinguished Professorship at the School of Architecture offers a unique opportunity to bring nationally and internationally recognized architects to the school for a semester or an academic year. 

The Plym Distinguished Professorship is conferred on an architect who has a prominent record of achievement and can make a positive contribution to the enrichment of the professional education of students in the School of Architecture. During their time on campus, Plym Professors typically serve as lead critic for a design studio in the M.Arch program, in collaboration with a School of Architecture faculty member.

This program is made possible by a 1981 gift to the school by the late Lawrence J. Plym of Niles, Michigan, past president of the Kawneer Corporation. Mr. Plym and his family have been important supporters and friends of the School of Architecture for several decades.

Following the term of each Plym Professor, a monograph is published on the architect’s work and the outcomes of the studio course they led. Click on the names below to view digital versions of each monograph.

Plym Distinguished Professors

Gunnar Birkerts, 1982-1983

Paul Rudolph, 1983-1984

Joseph Esherick, 1986-1987

Minoru Takeyama, 1989-1990

Edmund Bacon, 1991-1992

Thom Mayne, 1992-1993

Carme Pinos, 1994-1995

Dominique Perrault, 1997-1998

Frances Halsband, 2001-2002

Norman Crowe, 2002-2003

William C. Miller, Fall 2003

Kenneth Yeang, Spring 2006

Kengo Kuma, Fall 2007

Kenneth Frampton, 2008–2009

Juhani Pallasmaa, 2010–2011

Gong Dong, Spring 2019

Suchi Reddy, Fall 2019