Carol Ross Barney Awarded the Order of Lincoln

November 15, 2021

At a ceremony last week, Architecture alumna Carol Ross Barney, FAIA was honored as a 2021 recipient of the Order of Lincoln, the state’s highest honor for professional achievement and public service. A native of Chicago, she is the founder and principal of Ross Barney Architects and a founding member and first president of Chicago Women of Architecture. Her work has earned her an international reputation in design of institutional and public buildings including the reconstructed Oklahoma City Federal Building, two of Chicago’s most heavily used transit stations at Fullerton and Belmont Avenues, and the Chicago River Walk project.

In addition to Barney, this year’s Lincoln laureates include singer Mavis Staples and astronaut Captain Scott Altman. Barney is only the third architect to have received the honor, joining Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and Buckminster Fuller.

You can view the ceremony here.

Carol Ross Barney image
Cookie Settings