Thursday, July 12, 2018

Illinois School of Architecture students win Third Place in the 2018 Chicago Award in Architecture student competition! The competition, sponsored by American Institute of Architects (AIA) Chicago Chapter, is juried by members of the AIA Chicago Foundation. The awards will be formally presented at AIA Chicago’s Annual Meeting in early December.

According to AIA Chicago, 27 projects from eight schools were considered: Judson University, Illinois Institute of Technology, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Southern Illinois University, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and Washington University in St. Louis. 

Taking Third Place were Yuan Liao and Yueshen Mei for their entry, SCS (Scientific Customized Station) / Prefabricated Field Station. Liao and Mei developed their entry in Hugh Swiatek's Fall 2018 graduate design studio.