Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Earl Prize/ Graduate Studio Design Excellence – Spring 2018

The Illinois School of Architecture is pleased to announce the winners of the Earl Prize in Design (undergraduate) and the Graduate Awards for Design Excellence (graduate) for the Spring 2018 Semester. These awards recognize the outstanding students work at the sophomore, junior, senior and graduate levels of our curriculum.

Earl prize in Design – Review Committee: Hammann, Chasco, Bollo

The Earl Prizes are funded with income from an endowment bequeathed by Edward C. Earl Prizes and are awarded for excellence in undergraduate design studios.

ARCH 274             Name                                    Studio Instructor                             

1st Place               Kaitao Wu                           Emmons/Melgarejo de Berry     

2nd Place              Qingqing (Bianca) Deng Emmons/Melgarejo de Berry     

3rd Place               Emily Catlin                        Emmons/Melgarejo de Berry     

HM                         Emma

                  Dannhausen-Brun           Emmons/Melgarejo de Berry                                     

ARCH 374

1st Place               Michael Schoemaker     Bognar                                                 

2nd Place              Qingyuan (Rubin) Zhou Pepper                                                

3rd Place               Alex Sulek                           Tierney                                                

HM                         Jennifer Emmert              Emmons                                                                             

HM                         David Perrine                    Gaspin                                                                                 

ARCH 476

1st Place               Mengyao Liu                      Hutson                                                

2nd Place              Nathan Mollway              Loew                                                    

ARCH 476 – Barcelona

1st Place               Alice Fang                           Lapunzina                                           

2nd Place              Ava Sierra Heckman       Lapunzina                                           

3rd Place               Hyo Jin Kim                        Lapunzina                                        


Graduate Studio Design Excellence Awards – Review Committee: Tierney, Emmons, Gaspin, De Berry, Loew

ARCH 472

1st Place               Yijia Zhao – Armstrong

HM                         Stephanie McNicholas – Armstrong


1st Place               Shannon Fitzgerald, Srushti Nehete – Murray

2nd Place              Sowmya Singh, Marc Ponce Pujols – Hammann

3rd Place               Alex Brosh – Chasco

HM                         Ivana Rakshit, Yang Li – Murray