Tuesday, November 8, 2016

The NOMAS chapter affiliated with the Illinois School of Architecture was recognized as 2016 NOMAS Chapter of the Year at the National Association of Minority Architects conference in Los Angeles, October 13-16. Fifteen students from the school attended the conference, including Andres Cueva-Robles, current president, Jesse Han and Sierra Heckman, current co-vice presidents, as well as past presidents Esther Cho and Alexus Davis.

Also winning recognition—the Five Star Chapter Award—was the Illinois Chapter of NOMA, the professional chapter with which the school’s NOMAS chapter is affiliated. Additionally, past INOMA President Bryan Hudson became National NOMA President Elect.

While attending the conference, members of the school’s NOMAS chapter—along with students from 38 other NOMAS chapters—had opportunities to meet and network with professionals, emerging professionals, entrepreneurs, vendors, other students from across the country. The chapter’s conference attendance was supported by Perkins + Will (Los Angeles) and the NOMA Foundation.

For an overview of 2016 NOMA national conference activities, see NOMAS member Vicky Su’s video reflection on the event.

The school’s NOMAS chapter has been extraordinarily active in recent years. In 2015, it hosted a fall symposium on the theme of “Breaking the Glass Ceiling,” featuring keynote speaker Dina Griffin and a special guest lecture by Michael Ford. Also in 2015, NOMAS sponsored an ideas competition for designs of a new building for the Bruce Nesbitt African American Cultural Center. These events built on the successful 2014 fall symposium on “Bridging the Gap between College and Life,” which featured as keynote speaker Renauld Mitchell, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP, NCARB, Director of Operations for the Chicago and Washington, DC offices of Moody Nolan. NOMAS is planning its next symposium for early February 2017.

Professor Kathryn Anthony serves as the NOMAS chapter’s faculty advisor.