Thursday, April 21, 2016

Illinois Student Team among Winners in 2016 Race to Zero Design Competition

A student team from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is among the winners in the U.S. Department of Energy’s 2016 Race to Zero Student Design Competition. Thirty-one teams from 25 universities throughout the United States and Canada competed in a variety of categories. The Illinois team placed second overall in Small Multifamily Housing Contest.

Team LINKoln, designers of the “LINKoln Locale Project,” included 22 students from academic units across the Urbana campus, including architecture, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, civil engineering, energy systems, technical systems management, industrial engineering, and environmental engineering.

Team LINKoln was led by Amir Amirzadeh, a doctoral student in the School of Architecture, and was led and advised by Associate Professor Ralph Hammann, PhD, holder of the Thomas D. Hubbard Professorship in Architecture. Participants from the school were undergraduates Robert Moy (Competition Lead), Priscilla Zhang (Architecture Lead), and Michal Najder (Architecture Team Adviser), as well as graduate student Justin Palmer.

Faculty technical advice was provided by Associate Professor Richard Strand and Hilfinger Faculty Fellow Marc Mitalski (M.Arch 1997). Industry partners from architecture were Perkins+Will (Jeff Saad and Jeff Sanner [BSAS 2004]), Kennedy Hutson Associates (Kennedy Hutson [BSAS 1976, M.Arch 1979]), Sto Corp. (Jeff Diqui), Smart Energy Design Assistance Center (Robert Nemeth [BSAS 1981, M.Arch/MSCE 1993]), and The University Group (Andrew Hutson).

See the website for more information about the 2016 Race to Zero competition.