Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Lynne M. Dearborn became the fourth female faculty member in the 150-year history of the University of Illinois’ School of Architecture to achieve the rank of Full Professor in May 2020. In the School of Architecture, we are very pleased to announce in the promotion process Professor Dearborn was selected by the Campus Committee on Promotion and Tenure to receive a Distinguished Promotion Award.

Speaking about this honor, Professor Dearborn noted that she was delighted and humbled to be recognized in this way for her teaching, research, and service dedicated to making the built environment better for all people and particularly those most vulnerable to the negative mental and physical health effects of poor-quality environments.

During its annual promotion review process, the University of Illinois Urbana Campus Committee on Promotion and Tenure identifies exceptional cases of scholars whose contributions have been extraordinary in terms of quality of work and overall achievement. 

A small percentage of scholars at each level of tenured faculty promotion (associate professor and full professor) are selected to receive Campus Distinguished Promotion Awards

Each receives a discretionary fund to support their scholarly activities.

Professor Dearborn currently serves as Chair of Health and Well-being in the School and is 1st VP and President-elect of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA).

Congratulations to Professor Lynne Dearborn!